Object storage

Our object storage service is a fully distributed storage system, with no single points of failure and scalable to the exabyte level. The system is self-healing and self-managing. Data stored in object storage is asynchronously replicated to preserve three replicas of the data in different cloud regions. The system runs frequent CRC checks to protect data from soft corruption (bit rot). The corruption of a single bit can be detected and automatically restored to a healthy state. The loss of a region, server or a disk leads to the data being quickly recovered from another disk, server or region.

Data Location

When using object storage, the normal practice for where to hold your data is the region closest to your physical location. This is so that the speed it takes to access your data is the quickest it can possibly be. However because of Catalyst Cloud’s data replication across our regions the time it takes to access any storage object from across any of our regions should be consistent. That means you won’t have to worry about where to upload your data, it will always be available to you with no drop in access speed regardless of where you are.

Logging access

For both security and auditing reasons, logging who has accessed your storage objects and what actions the took on them is a standard best practice.

Schedule actions to not slow traffic

If many different users are trying to upload or download to/from the same container in object storage; the multiple actions will slow each other down. If you are uploading/downloading large amounts of data then it is a best practice to schedule these actions, so that the overall performance is not affected.

Deletion policies

There are a number of polices that you may wish to use when it comes to dealing with deleting data from your storage options. The following are some of the more common policies.

  • Retention policy: This policy dictates that a volume/object cannot be deleted until it reaches a certain age.
  • Object lock policy: The storage object is ‘locked’ and a specific user holds the ‘key’ to the instance and only they can choose to delete data from the instance or the instance itself.
  • Versioning policy: Whenever your volume is changed a new version is created and the previous state of the storage object is saved. Should your newest version suffer some failure, you have the option to reload the previous saved state. This is a mixture of a delete and backup policy.
  • Role policy: Only users that have the correct permissions may see, use, access or delete objects in the container (or the container itself) more information on this can be found under the Managing access section.